Hoy Sound

by S!nk

  • Set of 5 unique postcards with images taken during the recording of the album on Hoy. Comes with an additional download code for the album.
    ships out within 7 days

      £7 GBP or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Includes a version of the album as one continuous track, plus individual files for each 'movement'.
    Mettje Hunneman made this amazing film:
    Purchasable with gift card

      £5 GBP  or more


Hoy Sound 24:09


Pure improvisation recorded on the morning of 27th October 2017 in the extraordinary acoustic of the empty oil tank at the Lyness Naval Base on the Orkney island of Hoy.


Hoy Sound:

1 – Fifty Suns [ 0:00 ]
2 – Rust Holes in the Roof [ 4:56 ]
3 – Bring Deeps [ 8:10 ]
4 – Aeolian Harp [ 12:17 ]
5 - The Dwarfie Stane [ 17:34 ]


Special porridge for breakfast
Early start across the fields
Broken engines and boat parts strewn in the dew-cold grass

Here is the enormous oil tank empty of oil and dark inside
A museum of naval machinery hulks
The rust-crunching floor between standing waters echoes from under our feet
High above us rust-holes in the roof cast thin bright beams projecting astonishing upside down pinhole suns with clouds chasing onto the continuous curved and riveted iron wall
A neolithic cinema
Elsewhere fragmented fractal projections though smoke
One door wide to the light

Stereo pair and laptop set up
Swimming in surround sound
Deep water, deep time
The German fleet was scuppered here

Did the early humans build their temples of darkness and silence in order to emerge with newed consciousness into the sound and into the light?

And here we are in the bright sun again and the wind, not knowing each other or the music we have made



released December 7, 2019


Daniel Dumnov - Accordion, Electric Bass
Matt Wright - Soprano Saxophone, Bells
Tim Vincent-Smith - Viola, Voice, Sanzula


Matt Webb - Double Bass

Resonancy curated by Tim Vincent-Smith

Recorded, Edited & Mixed by Daniel Dumnov
Mastered by Dave House at The Noisefloor

Thanks to Matt Webb. Alice, Tristram, Adi and Aphra. Jude and everyone at the Scapa Flow Visitors Centre. Mettje Hunneman, Darla Eno, Tamsin Wates, Francesco Bienvenuti and Clement Luciani. Hoy Sound Choir. Island of Hoy Development Trust.


all rights reserved



S!nk Edinburgh, UK

S!nk compose music on the spot, realising rough-hewn instrumental explorations which open out into rich landscapes of sound. The improvised, acoustic, instrumental triangle at the heart of S!nk expands, contracts and explodes on the
April fools pre-release of their new album PopUpOcalypse.
... more

contact / help

Contact S!nk

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like S!nk, you may also like: